The innovation engine for new materials

News & Announcements

June 2021

Every year our ScienceLine recognizes our outstanding answerers in the different fields of science. Today the MRL is very glad to share with you the names of our ScienceLine award winners for the school year 2020-2021, and also the names of faculty...

April 2021

MRL graduate students George Degen and Sam Teicher have been
selected as two of the 21 UC President’s Lindau Nobel Laureate
Meetings Fellows (from the 10 UC campuses):
IRG-1 Graduate student Jayden Plumb has been selected to receive
one of 78 U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science Graduate
Student Research (SCGSR) fellowships. He is co-advised by Stephen
Wilson and...
Professor Chris Bates, Associate Director of the MRL is one of the
2021 recipients the Camille Dreyfus Teacher Scholar Award.  Dreyfus
Teacher-Scholars are faculty within the first five years of their
academic careers that have each created an...
Please join the MRL in congratulating the following graduate students for winning NSF Graduate Research Fellowships, or earning an Honorable Mention. Several of them are associated with the MRL:
From Chemical Engineering:
GRFs: Daniel Arnold...

March 2021

The MRL is delighted to share the wonderful news that Glenn Fredrickson has
been elected member of the National Academy of Sciences, to the 2021
Please join us in congratulating Glenn, who joins a rarefied group of

February 2021

The MRL is delighted to announce that Professor Rachel Segalman, IRG-2 co-leader, has been elected to the National Academy of Engineering, "For contributions to semiconducting block polymers, polymeric ionic liquids, and hybrid thermoelectric materials.”
The MRL is delighted to announce that Professor Craig Hawker has been elected to the 2021 class of National Academy of Engineering.
The citation associated with his election reads: "For contributions to polymer chemistry through synthetic organic chemistry concepts and...
Please join the MRL in congratulating Fyl Pincus, who will be awarded one of seven honorary PhDs honored at the International Board Week at the Weizmann Institute of Science later in 2021.
The Weizmann Institute of Science is the leading research...

January 2021

Please join the MRL in congratulating Vedika Shenoy (Chem Eng. Junior, Valentine and Helgeson groups) and Daniela Rivera Mirabal (Chem Eng. Senior, Univ. of Puerto Rico at Mayaguez, Shell group) who placed first and second in the student poster competition...